Eating locally

The day after New Year’s our friends at Bridge Farm invited us to a “locavore” potluck.  It was an amazing and fun afternoon.  We got to meet a lot of new people, all of whom are producing some wonderful products.  The challenge of the potluck was, as you can imagine, creating a dish with local ingredients.  I knew that I could have busted out some meat and gone that route, but I really wanted to make some kind of casserole so there would be more than enough to share.  I have plenty of chevre in the freezer, so I thought that I would indulge in a recipe I have been dying to make from the Former Chef’s blog.  It’s her roasted beet, leek and goat cheese tart recipe.  Absolutely delicious!  I got locally grown organic beets which I then roasted.  On top of the partially cooked pie crust you put chopped leeks that have been wilted or sauteed, with the sliced, roasted beets next, then a layer of crumbled goat cheese, and then you pour over the whole thing a mixture of milk (or cream) and eggs.  And baked.  It was fabulous.  When I make it again I am going to slice the beets a little more thinly, but otherwise it was lovely. As were all of the other offerings on the absolutely groaning table!

A sampling of some of our wonderful eggs!

The local parts of that tart were the beets (Goranson’s Farm), leeks (Ruit Farm freezer from a few years ago, so they were a tad freezer-burned), goat cheese (Ruit Farm), milk (Straw’s Farm raw cow’s milk), and Ruit Farm eggs.  Alas, the pie crust stumped me!  I did use Kate’s New England butter and King Arthur flour, but that’s as close as I could get.  All the other potluck dishes were absolutely wonderful and it was a very successful locavore gathering.

Goat cheesy goodness!

We always try to use products that are as local as possible, but having to really think about and plan a meal like that made me appreciate how much we have locally available to us in the midcoast Maine region.  Maybe when we get the Somerset grist mill in the old Skowhegan jail up and running there will be more local flour available here, at least.

For a very enjoyable look at another blog I have just recently found, I recommend the Lovely Locavore Ladies of Boston blog.  They really take the locally eating experience seriously.  (Great pictures as well).  I wish that I had taken a picture of my beet and leek tart before the party.  I never did get a photo and it’s been very happily consumed :*)

7 thoughts on “Eating locally”

  1. Thanks for the shout-out!

    We’ve been rooting around (no pun intended), for some good winter root recipes, and that tart sounds delish! How thinly sliced would you recommend for the beets? I have a feeling that this will be in our future, with layers of red and golden beets! Yum.

  2. No problem! I used both color beets and it was fantastic. My favorite beets are the golden, anyway. I cut these beets when they were al dente roasted and I cut them unevenly. Some were 1/4′ or thicker and some were a lot less. I would probably just make more of an effort to keep them even and on the 1/4″ or less side. It also would have made it easier to layer them “artfully” on the tart in the end (I put this in a 9X13″ pan for that dinner, so it wasn’t in a round pie pan).

  3. Hoping to get you Maine grown pastry wheat as soon as possible!
    We’re making loads of progress.

    Yours in cooking local,
    Amber

  4. Thanks for the update Amber! Until I looked for the link the other day I hadn’t seen that you have a blog up there. It’s very exciting :*)

  5. What a fun idea! This summer a neighbor had a community potluck where the project was to bring food that you made from your garden. Lee and I were nervous about going as we are somewhat shy people but we had a lovely time. We all sat around eating food and talked about our gardens. You know it was a bad garden year when the host asked what we all were able to grow and everyone groaned. Stupid rain. :)

  6. Sorry to hear that your summer wasn’t a good garden year. Ours was, but we were so busy we never got a “real” garden in. Just a few things. Nice idea as well, though.

Leave a Reply

