Deep freeze again and knitting

Gratuitous sky photography. Can't help myself.
Gratuitous sky photography. Can’t help myself.

The one really beautiful thing about this time of year when the temperatures are hovering around zero with windchills in the negative numbers, is the sky. All the cold, clear air shows off a hypnotic blue when the sun is out, and glorious pinks and reds around sunset and sunrise. This afternoon’s temperatures were ridiculous, and even though I use heavy face cream, when I came in my face was burned from the cold. Crazy.

Hitchhiker
Hitchhiker

More knitting is happening, thank goodness. It makes me feel like I have a hedge against the cold, somehow. Martina Behm is one of my favorite knitting designers, and for awhile now I have been wanting to knit her Hitchhiker scarf/shawlette. I came across some yarn that I had bought last year at the Spa weekend in Freeport, and it was the perfect fit for the pattern (String Theory Caper Sock in shale). I needed a good portable project, so I got started. Oh my gosh, is this an addictive knit! It’s an asymmetrical scarf that is longer than it is wide, and is about a 7 row repeat. It’s a no-brainer and too much fun! As it goes along you bind off 5 stitches every 7 rows, while at the same time  you are increasing like crazy. Love it. Just the right project for a cold winter evening!

One thought on “Deep freeze again and knitting”

Leave a Reply

