Still washing wool

A nearly perfect summer day
A nearly perfect summer day

I am sorry to have been absent for this past week. My husband had a little medical scare, so I was busier than I had imagined I would be during this first week of school vacation. I think things are pretty much back to normal now, so I am continuing to wash skeins and skeins of wool. Fallout from the Great Wool Moth Invasion of 2014.  Eek. The only way to make sure that no eggs are left alive in wool is to wash them at a certain temperature water with soap. So I am. It’s not a heinous project, as I enjoy being home now that school is out. The weather has been perfect: breezy and not too hot. Just right. I have gotten a slew of stuff done since last Friday, and I can say that I am on the winning end of the deal at this point. And, as a bonus, in the big cleanout I came across a box of some handspun that I am very happy to have found!

Wet handspun
Wet handspun

Aside from the wool, the goats are offering up some very good entertainment, even though Bagels tripped me Tuesday night and I think I sprained a finger on my right hand. (I had my hand through his collar and he wanted to go one way, I was going the other way, and we landed in a heap, jamming my fingers in the process.) Ah well, such is the life. But in general, when I am home during the day, I can open up the goat paddock to a very weedy, grassy area, so they are going great guns on that. We have a loam pile right in the middle of this area and the kids are very engaging as they jump and do back flips onto and off the pile. The best King of the Mountain game yet!

This weekend looks totally gorgeous, and I am looking forward to the good weather. More haying on the schedule, I think.

6 thoughts on “Still washing wool”

  1. Hope all is OK now on the medical front. Glad you found the homespun! Often find long lost items like that when I do cleaning and sorting.

    Some rain here today in Western Oregon’s Cascade foothills. It is welcome, as we will be entering our dry season here soon. We normally get little to no rain from July through mid September.

  2. I never think about a “dry” season in the Pacific Northwest. Interesting. Hope you don’t get really high heat along with that!

  3. It’s a dry heat in summer, so it doesn’t feel so bad. It can get into the low 100s here though, although at night it cools down into the 40s or 50s. Large daily temperature swings in summer here! The hottest I have ever seen it, and hope never to again, was 112 degrees during a heat wave several years ago. I did a double take looking at the porch thermometer. The AC was taxed to the max, and could not get the house below 80. The coldest I have seen it get in summer was 38 degrees one July morning. From freezer to oven! :-)

  4. Wow. Never imagined that weather pattern for out there. I lived in Israel for a few years, so I do know the dry heat phenomenon!

  5. Ugh, what a chore! Glad you are seeing the light at the end of the tunnel, and hope you manage to eradicate those suckers for good. Sorry to hear about John, hope he is on the mend.

Leave a Reply

