Kid Dancing!

I was so excited this morning when I went out to do chores. For one thing, even though the cold has returned, the sun is shining. For another, when the goats came out of their greenhouse to meet me, I almost dropped the bundle of hay I was carrying: Salsa, our largest almost-white doe, turned away from me to head toward the feeder and her bulging sides started doing a happy dance!

Salsa's babies are making themselves known!
Salsa's babies are making themselves known!

It’s our first sign that lambing and kidding is definitely closer than we think. Her kids must have been as hungry as she was, and for sure were letting her know it :*) I don’t know how many babes are in there, but she isn’t due until March 10th. I would think that I had gotten the date wrong, but her udder isn’t bagged up yet, it’s still mostly deflated, so I am hoping we are right on target. I knew it was time to get my lambing/kidding box together! Better get right on that!

Leave a Reply

