Got Milk? Goat Milk :* )

For someone who has never (I mean never) been a milk drinker, I am incredibly happy about milk today. I have always been plagued with some lactose intolerance, but our goat milk doesn’t bother me at all. Not that I am drinking it, just making cheese with it! And after a hiatus of 2 1/2 months, it’s good to be milking again.

Saturday's milk harvest
Saturday's milk harvest

We don’t do things the way most dairy operations do them. We don’t take our goat kids away from their mamas, which means that while they are nursing we have to share the bounty with the babies. Honestly, this is more convenient for me as this allows me to get back into the swing of milking, storing and handling the milk, and making chevre. Since lambing is coming right up any second now, it’s kind of a relief to know that I don’t have to get out at 5 a.m. before work with milk pails in hand yet! That will come when we wean the kids. For now I am just milking in the afternoon and calling it good. And I am playing with goat milk lotion, which is my favorite in the whole world. Hopefully my recipe will work!

Anyone out there that’s doing goat cheese for a living right now is laughing that I am crowing about a gallon of milk for my milking… but I am not doing things on a grand scale and we love what we are doing. It’s fun, and the product is clean and not filled with hormones. It’s a good thing!

Leave a Reply

