Snow day

Yesterday was our first snow day of the school year.  It was a great call as once the snow started it really came down.  And then of course it was followed by torrential, windswept rains.  Totally yucky by the end of the day.

I had finally picked up our smoked pork last Friday and we were forced to cook one of the hams over the weekend (held my feet to the fire and all… not!).

Leftover ham

It was fantastic, some of the best pork we have raised yet.  The breed cross is my personal favorite (Tamworth boar on Large Black Sows) and then they had all of that goat milk and whey, they couldn’t not be wonderful!  Even though we have our hams cut in half, they are still pretty impressive hunks of meat and we ate from it all weekend and into the early part of this week.  So yesterday my husband looked at me and begged for lima bean and ham soup.  One of my all-time favorites as well.   Trouble was, only a few dried limas were hiding in the pantry.  So I dug through the containers and unearthed two different kinds of beans

Locally grown beans

that were grown locally in Jefferson, Maine, at Bluebird Hill Farm.  Wild Goose beans and cannellini beans.  The wild goose beans are small and multicolored, with little swirly markings on them.  Then I found a handful of black beans, not locally grown, and decided to throw those in as well.  It cuts down on the ‘locavore’ listing of this meal, but that’s o.k., it was awesome, and we have a huge pot of leftovers that will be welcome again tonight. To make it even better, a neighbor invited us over to share supper with them so we ended up having a small feast.  Can’t beat that on a stormy night!

Ham and bean soup
3 thoughts on “Snow day”

  1. I can attest to the deliciousness of the ham. Made a ham steak with bourbon cream sauce (got to flame the bourbon, fun!) and to paraphrase Tammy at Food on the Food, needed to take up smoking so I could have a cigarette after!

  2. Wow! Bourbon cream sauce sounds divine! I might have to get that recipe :*)

    My husband is a firefighter. He can handle the flames!

  3. Wondering where you get your piglets? I’m in Maine and looking for piglet sources for next year (we have a few mutt pigs this year). I’ve been wanting Tamworth, but love hearing that you like this cross.

Leave a Reply

