Greenhouse revealed

Winter has hit us with a windy vengeance.  By the middle of last week we were having arctic wind gusts at approximately 30 mph, and it sounded as though a freight train was traveling through the neighborhood.  With the ice on the ground, it was a challenge to even reach the animal paddocks in one piece.  Last Thursday I was running up the driveway at dusk, head down to make sure I didn’t fall, threw open the gate to my work area that connects all three paddocks, and instead of a nicely covered temporary milking greenhouse, this is what I saw:

Greenhouse skeleton, laid bare :*(

Salsa and I were not pleased!  The lights were swinging in the wind and I couldn’t raise a soul in the house to come and help.  I guess in the end, it didn’t make any difference… I don’t think we could have hoisted that heavy covering over in the face of those winds, even if there were two of us.  We had to wait until the winds died down to get that lid back on.  The greenhouse needs a totally new covering, but they are not cheap, and I don’t want to replace it until we re-site the whole structure.  Before we really knew the lay of the land and how the winter winds travel across the front of the property, we put this and one other livestock greenhouse up, with the gable ends facing east/west.  Not the best planning on our parts!  The winds hoot down from the northwest and get into the gable ends and lift the whole heavy covering up and down, shifting it just ever so slightly, over and over again.  Eventually it just starts to come apart and lose its integrity.  We did finally get the cover back on and tied down again.  Not much more milking to be done this year, thank goodness.  Although I have to say, it was a beautiful, clear evening, and I got to snuggle up against a nice warm body and stargaze.

