Shhh… Can’t talk now, reading Year of the Goat!

OK, so I never got another post written about the absolutely amazing book that I read a few weeks ago, Goat Song by Brad Kessler.  I was blown away by his writing as well as by the story of the way he and his wife got into raising goats in Vermont.  I can’t find a website or a blog to link to, but I highly recommend the book if you want to read a very inspiring look at the connections between humans and domesticated farm animals.  While moving sheep fence down the street in the pasture today I had a chance to think about how lucky we are to be doing what we are doing with all the wonderful sheep and goats here.  I am feeling the pressure of impending “back-to-work” mindset, so I guess I am enjoying the last fleeting moments of the summer, as well as enjoying the time to do more reading and feeling a connection to other folks who are doing what we are trying to do :*)

Elf with her spring doeling. It seems so long ago, now!

Our friend Pam of Hatchtown Farm loaned me a copy of the book The Year of the Goat by Margaret Hathaway with photos by her husband Karl Schatz the other day and I have not been able to put it down!  Another great book about goats.  A very moving story of two people who give up their comfy life  in NYC and travel the country meeting with goat people, and then settling down in Maine.  And to top it all off, they have a wonderful blog at Living with goats that chronicles what their life is like now on their farm, Ten Apple Farm in southern Maine.  As I finish the book I am going to have to go back and read through their blog archives, but the few posts I have read are great.  Another blog for the Google Reader to keep me updated on!  More Jewish farmers in Maine.  Yay!

Leave a Reply

