Knitting and Reading

Aside from reading a whole lot of wonderful young adult and middle grade fiction these days, I have been reading some of Stephanie Pearl-McPhee’s books.  Of YarnHarlot blog fame, she is a very funny writer and uses a lot of self-deprecating humor to talk about knitting and life.  Everything she knits looks beautiful to me and I find a lot of inspiration there.  Her books take a more in-depth look at some of her knitting endeavors and they really qualify as some of my all-time favorite reads.  If something is funny enough to get me laughing so hard that my husband sits up in bed and asks what’s wrong, it can’t be bad!  I am almost finished with Yarn Harlot: The Secret Life of a Knitter. Very funny indeed.

Part of all this reading and knitting has to do with the fact that I have been pretty sick with a chest cold this past week and a half.  Stay home a few days, go back to work and then have to stay home again, etc.  But, it’s given me some time to get some knitting done as well.  I was able to make two hats with some of our beautiful Coopworth worsted weight natural grey.

Button Tab hat

The button-tab hat (pattern found on a blog called I Like Lemons) I just love, but I ended up giving it to someone with long hair who needs to tuck in her ponytail.  It was too big for me, now that I have short hair.  Since I knit that one first, I had my husband try it on to check the gauge and the size from forehead to crown.  It was a little big on him as well, so I knit one on size 6 needles instead of 7s.  He also wanted a fold-up brim.  So this is what I came up with.  It’s really cozy, warm and soft.

John's hat, brim pulled down

I need to make myself one now!

Leave a Reply

