Meadow has triplets and Bonbel surprises us all

Meadow's triplets

And so it goes… I was on my way out to feed our little bottle boys on Monday evening and I found that Meadow had had her lambs (I had her penned, just in case).  Triplets!  So we have two more white rams, and an absolutely gorgeous black ewe.  I am really psyched to have a Meadow ewe lamb.  (Last year’s Meadow ewe got crushed in a ewe stampede).  As Meadow is getting older, this may be her last year.  So I am very excited!  And this ewe definitely has her father’s fleece.  Large crimp and very dark!  Wow!  Meadow is a good mama and makes sure that her babies are all getting their share of her milk, but I will have to keep my eye on them to make sure.

Today my husband called me at work to tell me that when he was going out to feed Rosie’s bottle lambs, he found our yearling doe, Bonbel, with two little white does.  They are beautiful!  She doesn’t have much of an udder on her either, so I am going to decide tonight whether or not to pull the babies in and just bottle feed them.  It’s nice to have bottle fed milkers as they are easier to handle in the future, but I love to let their mom mother them up as well.  Oh well, we shall see what happens.  If the two girls lose body temperature, I will haul them in.  And I would love to know what the deal is with the goat colors:  we get gorgeous bucks of all different patterns and colors, and all the does end up being white!

Bonbel's does
Leave a Reply

