A dismal grey week

punctuated by a few brighter moments…  last night I went to our monthly Salt Bay Treadlers meeting and we had a great time.  We had a lot of wonderful food and a lot of laughs.  Pam of Hatchtown Farm brought along her bottle lamb (because she has a cast on her leg) so we had some alternative entertainment as well.  I needed a good laugh and we had a multitude of them.  I wish that I had remembered to have my camera along as we also had plenty of photo ops!

Tuesday evening John, JD and I spent hours on the floor in the kitchen with Bear the Lab, talking to her as she let go.  She was wagging and alert to the last.  Bear now has a place of honor in our Rugosa patch, right outside the dining room windows on the SW side of the house.  We miss her terribly, but 13 years is a good life and we enjoyed it all with her.  I can’t really put into words how much a dog like Bear can enrich life so well.  We will miss her something awful.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

9 thoughts on “A dismal grey week”

  1. My sympathies and condolences on the passing of Bear. You gave her a great great life and an easy passing, which is the most any of us can ask for.

    Wishing you the best in the coming days.

  2. Nina,

    We’re so sorry to hear about Bear. It’s never, ever easy. Our Fisher is gone three years this month. We still talk about his antics and have a good laugh.

    Hang in there.

    Dan and Ali

  3. Aww, Nina, so sorry to hear about Bear. It is so hard to say goodbye to a beloved pet. As Dan said, we still speak about the Fish often, and miss him. Hugs,
    ALi

  4. Thanks, Dan and Ali. I know that you guys have had your pet dealings as well. Must be a bad month for old retrievers!

  5. Nina, Your pictures of Bear made me smile and shed a tear. She was such a sweetie.

    Chris

  6. I know. When I get up in the morning I keep looking for her in the hall. It’s a process, and we still have our Tesser dog! She is feeling the loss as well. She is sitting in my lap right now. Dogs are great!

Leave a Reply

