Getting ready

20120821-200608.jpg

Spent the day yesterday cooking. Getting so close to back to work I am getting frantic to get some meals and lunches ready and into the freezer. Aside from that, this is the time of year when all the great garden stuff is ready and begging to be made into things like eggplant parmigiana!

We were given some really beautiful eggplants and Sunday I carved out some time to begin the breading and frying process. This is something that usually lands on my plate in the evening, and being more of a morning person I got up Sunday morning and that was first thing on my list, after morning chores of course. It’s always quite the process, but the freshness of the morning really helped. The weather is definitely changed for the better for me (no humidity!). Eggplant parm is just about my number one comfort food, and on a work morning when I am rushed and don’t have time to make something like a salad, it’s wonderful to be able to pull a nice little package out of the freezer.

I didn’t quite have all local ingredients, although that is always my goal. Most of the sauce was made from last years’ tomatoes, but I ran out and ended up finishing off the top layer with some Newman’s. I never calculate the sauce correctly! The eggplant came from a neighbor, the eggs came from another friend, the breadcrumbs came from Progresso and the cheese, alas, from the store as well.

20120821-200719.jpg

Leave a Reply

