In which I am reincarnated as Oscar the Grouch

I am usually a pretty even-tempered person, but my bursitis flare up has turned me into someone I almost don’t recognize.  Excruciating pain that won’t go away is obviously the root of this evil, and I have not been thinking about much of anything at all, except getting through every day without crying in public.  I might have welcomed a rental in Oscar the Grouch’s can… at least people would know what to expect!

I really thought that I could get my hip under control with ice and ibuprofen, but by Thursday I knew it was not working, so I saw the doctor and he gave me a cortisone shot with anesthetic (had these years ago with varied success).  When the anesthetic wore off, however, my hip was still pretty bad, although a touch better.  I am pretty much always in motion, but I have been forced to take it easy so John has been doing more of the chores and I have been using the ice packs religiously.  I am presuming that the whole hip area was so inflamed that it’s going to take awhile to get back to being my normal little bit gimpy, but I wish I could fast forward that timeline a little!  I have so much to get done while the weather is this perfectly autumnally gorgeous!  Grump, grump, grump.  Whine, whine whine!

At least I got a few books read which was kind of nice :*)

5 thoughts on “In which I am reincarnated as Oscar the Grouch”

  1. I hope so as well. The cortisone shot has not made any difference yet, but I am hopeful it will kick in soon!

  2. Ugh, bursitis is the pits. Did the doc suggest any stretches for it? I had really good results with a few visits to physical therapy and stretching at home– of course, I can’t use ibuprofen so need alternative therapies. Once things calm down a bit some stretches may help. Good luck!

  3. It really is the pits. I have a whole stretching routine that I ordinarily do, but I am afraid to do too much right now!

Leave a Reply

