Tuesday temperature changes

Basket of dryer balls
Basket of dryer balls

I have been home for the last few days with the flu.  Yeah, didn’t dodge that bullet, but didn’t get it as badly as most folks have.  I opted to stay home today because yesterday I made myself stay up all day and it was exhausting.  Went to bed last night with a head that felt like it weighed 50 lbs.  So I got up at near usual time this a.m. and decided that it wasn’t going to be a green light for work.   The temperatures outside have fallen today, and it was lovely to do chores in slightly more winter-like weather.

What I did get done today was to finish some of my custom orders for dryer balls.  A very nice project for putting one’s feet up and playing with roving and yarn.  I just love these things, and some of my co-workers are very excited about them as well.  I love the fact that I can cut out another source of chemicals from our lives, so it’s a total win for me (we use these instead of dryer sheets or fabric softener).  I wish I could just keep the basket on the table for a decoration… they are all so different and so lovely!

Newly blooming African violet on the coffee table next to a stand of Peace Fleece knitting needles!
Newly blooming African violet on the coffee table next to a jar of Peace Fleece knitting needles!

I also have been admiring one of our violets which is beginning to bloom again after I repotted it last summer.  Small joys for the day!

4 thoughts on “Tuesday temperature changes”

  1. Thanks! I love using the Peace Fleece needles like a flower arrangement. They don’t need water or plant food! And my African violets just seem to thrive with very little care. Love them!

  2. What are dryer balls? Inquiring minds, etc. Glad you are over the flu, Dan brought it home from jury duty. He’s been sick since Friday, and now I’m coming down with it. Happy, happy NOT.

  3. Sorry to hear that you folks have been caught by the flu. Yuck. Hope you are feeling better soon.

    I have been using dryer balls instead of fabric softener or dryer sheets as they have chemicals in them that I prefer to stay away from. They are essentially just wool felt balls made with yarn and roving. We use about 4, two of which have large safety pins in them which is meant to cut down on the static cling. It seems to work for everything except fleece vests and jackets, they still have a tendency to hold onto that electricity! The balls actually cut down on the time needed for drying as well (I think they absorb some of the wetness). And the balls work a lot like having a sneaker in the dryer, it keeps things separated. It’s been working well for us so far!

Leave a Reply

