Blizzardwatching

Coated sheep napping in the snow
Coated sheep napping in the snow

They say it’s going to be a big one.  I waited to go out and do chores this morning until I really couldn’t put it off anymore without making myself late for work, in the hopes of getting a call about whether or not there would be any school today.  Waiting until 6 a.m. makes it ever so much easier to do chores in the semi-daylight, rather than the abject darkness, but I finally went out about 5:15 and as I stepped out the door it began flurrying.  No big deal, as they were predicting only a little bit before evening, but apparently this bit of the storm was moving faster than they thought, and before I was through with chores I had the text message saying school was cancelled.  I am glad we got to stay home as the snow has gotten deep pretty quickly, although it’s very dry and easily moved.  I am really not looking forward to tonight, however, which is when hurricane force winds are predicted along the coast, bringing about 2′ of snow with it overnight.  At least it’s a weekend and most folks won’t have to go anyplace, I hope.  And so we wait.

Dan Gutman's first Genius Files installment
Dan Gutman’s first Genius Files installment

Delicious to have a little “found” time on my hands, I began prepping for a batch of soap.  Since I am drying off the does and not milking every day, the amount I got on Wednesday was perfect for this.  Not enough to make a decent amount of cheese, but enough for two batches of soap.  So I measured out the milk in the glass bowl that I use for the lye mixture, and then I made room for it in one of our huge chest freezers, and popped it in.  Then I took a little nap, followed by a wonderful hour finishing off some of my “work” reading.  What a chore!  Not!  Being a young adult librarian, most of the reading I do is young adult literature, which I thoroughly enjoy. Two of the kids at the middle school have been raving about a book by one of the most popular young adult authors, Dan Gutman, that is currently on this year’s Maine Student Book Award list (about 40 titles chosen as a challenge to kids to read from varying genres and from a highly recommended list).  Gutman’s first book in the Genius Files series is a hoot (Mission Unstoppable).  Lots of young adult humor, action-packed, totally plot driven (read here:  not much character development) and is full of as much crazy, unnecessary trivia about the USA as anyone can ask for!  Twins on a cross-country trip who are being tracked by an evil genius, their lives in danger at every turn, while visiting the largest ball of twine in Minnesota, the Pez museum, and more. Dan Gutman’s books are always kid-pleasers, but this one is a little different than his others.  Kids at school are already asking for the sequels.  It was definitely a fun read.  Now on to some soap-making and perhaps some knitting!

Leave a Reply

