Blizzarding

The girls come out to meet me.  A little snow doesn't stop a hungry ewe!
The girls come out to meet me. A little snow doesn’t stop a hungry ewe!

The weather people were not wrong about this storm.  We have french doors on the front of the house that have 5′ drifts up against them, and our back stairs are bare.  The trouble for me doing chores this morning came when I got to the bottom of those stairs…  I am not the shortest person I know at 5’3″, but when I hit that ground, I found myself up to the top of my thighs in drifting snow.  I made it up the driveway somehow, dug out one of the gates, fed everyone their hay inside, and made my way back to the house, wishing I had ski poles!

Mohair socks and a heating pad
Mohair socks and a heating pad

Our biggest problem this weekend is that our furnace is broken.  I drove out yesterday evening to get our son in town, who is an HVAC guy, to see if he could help us.  He didn’t have the parts we need, and I doubt that we will get out to get them today.  We are hunkered down in two rooms that we have partitioned off from the open living room, and John has gotten a little electric heater set up.  We have electricity and our stove is a propane/gas job, so we can make ourselves hot water.  (And after coming in from chores I sat down and put my mohair-sock-covered feet on the heating pad!!!).    I am definitely not snow-covered mountain-climbing material :*)

4 thoughts on “Blizzarding”

  1. Oh dear! Somehow I missed this post last weekend, but I hope you have heat for the next wave of snow.

Leave a Reply

