Wheel work

Cleaning the base of the wheel
Cleaning the base of the wheel

Well, I got more done today than I thought I would.  At some point as the snow began to fall, I decided to do what I have been trying to get to for a few months now…  cleaning up and refreshing my production Jensen spinning wheel (30″ drive wheel).  Wanting to get more spinning done on this wheel, I keep telling myself that when I get it cleaned up, then I have permission to use it.  It’s always the way!

J. Jensen finished the wheel on 12-31-96.  I got it a month or so later
J. Jensen finished the wheel on 12-31-96. I got it a month or so later

The wheel is very special to me.  16 years ago my husband gave it to me and I have loved it and cherished it since.  It’s an amazing wheel, and I am very appreciative of it, particularly since Mr. Jensen is either not making many wheels, or not making any at all anymore.  It’s an extrenely beautiful piece of machinery, and once I get started, I can spin on it for hours.

 

Cleaning the drive wheel
Cleaning the drive wheel

I finally took the whole thing apart and got it all cleaned up and renewed with my favorite wood refresher, Woodbeams, and then got it all put back together again.  It took hours, but that was ok.  I enjoyed myself, watching the snow falling outside as I worked.  Satisfying first day of vacation.

Finally back together and ready to go!
Finally back together and ready to go!
3 thoughts on “Wheel work”

  1. What a wonderful way to spend a snowy day! That drive wheel is just spectacular with those spokes. Happy spinning!

Leave a Reply

