Too cold!

Mother-of-all holds the flyer assembly on the front of the production wheel
Mother-of-all holds the flyer assembly on the front of the production wheel

Neither of us got much sleep last night.  Up to 50 mph gusts of wind out there, and all I could hear were branches bouncing off the roof and the howl of the wind.  It’s been relentless.  Yesterday we got some more snow, but probably only 2 or 3 inches which has blown and drifted all over the place.  Today is bright, but so nasty that I didn’t get much done outdoors except for basic chores.  I even fed the girls inside their greenhouses to give them some relief from the windiness.

The Tina II, cleaned and all dressed up for the big weekend
The Tina II, cleaned up again

Yesterday during the blowing and snowing I ended up cleaning my other wheel, my portable Jensen Tina II.  I love both of these wheels.  They are both cherry, and both work beautifully.  So now they are equally cleaned up and oiled and ready to go.  After I got the production wheel done the other day, I realized that the leather pieces that hold the flyer assembly were all dried out.  I was a little hesitant about taking them out of the mother-of-all, but John undid the tiny screws, and we tapped the leather pieces out and soaked them in mink oil.  They feel nice and supple again, I will have to remember to do that more often.  It’s a very simple but elegant system.  Now all I have to do is get my hands on a few more bobbins for both the wheels.  A dog used one of them a few years ago for a chew toy, and I have dropped two, which did not have a good ending.

And so President’s Day is a bright one, but much more fun indoors than out!

Leave a Reply

