Late winter Saturday

Chicken pot pie for dinner
Chicken pot pie for dinner

Long late winter day.  Squirty snow all afternoon and the damp invaded everything.  Lots of things are calling for attention.  As usual!  For quite awhile, I have been getting ready to move our regular website to a new webhost service.  I have stayed with our local small outfit for the past 10 years because I like to support small, local business.  And honestly, once the website was up and running there, it was going to be a lot of trouble to move it.  Recently this small provider was sold to a very large corporation, and I knew I needed to begin the process of getting our website moved, in the process saving quite a bit of money, which is always a good thing.  I chose another provider, and now have to get the darn thing there.  Complications, always complications!

I have been trying to keep the website updated, and hope it is for the moment.  But the question is, do I want to transform it into something  a little more “modern?”  Maybe use a WordPress.org theme (templates of which I perused for half the day today)?  Oh my, that requires learning to interact with .PHP coding.  Aargh!  Maybe I will leave that one for later!  Or update to a slightly niftier CSS design?  Sigh.  For now, I guess I will just get our very simple site transferred.   Decisions, decisions.

In the meantime, I had some leftover roast chicken, and today was the perfect day to make it into a nice pot pie.  I used a piece of the Barefoot Contessa’s recipe for the supreme sauce and the handling of the actual baking of the pie (I have never put an egg wash on a pot pie crust, but I really like the way it turned out).  And as it was, I ended up with more filling than would fit into the Pyrex deep dish pan.  But it came out beautifully, and was just the ticket for a damp winter evening!

And even better, a friend of mine just clued me in to the fact that next weekend begins Daylight Savings time!  Woot!  Woot!  That definitely puts a smile on my face :*)

3 thoughts on “Late winter Saturday”

  1. It is a wonderful thing to look forward to. After this week of greyness, I am certainly going to celebrate on Sunday!

Leave a Reply

