Daylight saving weekend, day 1

Chris and Jocelyn ar the class in Topsham
Chris and Jocelyn ar the class in Topsham

I love that we are spending the majority of the year with Daylight Savings.  I will never get more accomplished in the mornings than feeding the sheep and goats, getting cleaned up and getting to work by 7 a.m.  But with more light in the afternoons, it gives so much more daytime to work with!

A wall of hooked rug hangings by Anne Cox
A wall of hooked rug hangings by Anne Cox

To get the weekend festivities started, I took a spinning class yesterday down at Maine Fiberarts in Topsham.  Linda Clutterbuck was teaching a class on refining spinning technique.  Just being out and about was wonderful on a day like yesterday, which was sunny and mild.  The big windows in the old building flooded the room with light, and not only was it wonderful to be learning some new things, but it was nice to spend the time with other fiber folk.  A few from our Salt Bay Treadlers group were there and it was a fantastic day.  Linda is a great teacher and I learned some things that I will be happy to apply to my spinning.  It was kind of a head buster, but it all makes sense and is more than useful.  (Ratios of twists per inch in single spun and then plied yarns).  It all makes a lot of sense and even if I don’t measure my angles of twist and bumps per inch in the plied yarn obsessively, it gives me another way to check to see if I am getting the yarn that I am looking for.  Very satisfying!

 

 

Leave a Reply

