Currently residing in domain transfer limbo

Or in one of Dante’s circles, I might rather put it.  I knew the process of transferring our regular website (ruitfarm.com) to a new domain holder and web host company was going to be a little involved, and possibly a tad frustrating.  I was right, for once!

Website screen capture
Website screen capture

It’s necessary for domains (website addresses) to be legally owned and there should be a certain amount of red tape involved in changing it around in some way.  It is a process that safeguards a website owner from having the site yanked out from under them by some unscrupulous individual or corporate entity.  I totally understand that part of it.  But in order to transfer a domain to a new host, there are protocols that the sending company (or losing company as it were) must follow in order to legally fork over the domain and let it go to a new home.  It’s probably just human nature, but the sending company in our case seems to be making things a little more difficult than one would want.  Dragging their feet, as it were.  I have stuck with this company for almost 10 years, and they are always extremely helpful and kind souls.  And I understand the whole losing customers thing, but…

Sigh.  It has been quite the learning curve for me.  Learning the new company’s interface has been a little overwhelming.  I am hoping that I can gain access to the main website over on the new servers in the next two or three days.  Or at least hoping that the ruitfarm.com domain may almost be free and available for tweaking with the new host.  In the meantime, I am sure glad that we have this blog, separate from the website.  (I have not paid much attention to the website in the last few years, as we do not have anything fancy like a “shopping cart” on it, and have treated the blog as my update pages, leaving the website as an orphan cousin).  I am hoping to change that in the near future.  And thanks to my husband’s cousin in NJ, I am rethinking a drastic change in my web design.  I have a few small updates in mind, but more in color than in major design changes.  Thanks Lynnell for your input!  (I promise that I will get your name spelled correctly at some point in my life!).

3 thoughts on “Currently residing in domain transfer limbo”

  1. My dear, you are light years ahead of me. Dan T. has been the teacher extraordinaire for me. He has helped me with the whole blog thing. I cannot imagine changing domains. Heck, I only have a domain because Dan suggested it. Good luck!!

  2. It’s a pity you don’t have a donate button! I’d most certainly donate to this brilliant blog! I suppose for now i’ll settle for bookmarking and adding your RSS feed to my Google account.

    I look forward to fresh updates and will share this blog with my Facebook
    group. Talk soon!

Leave a Reply

