Blogiversary

Thanks to a WordPress notification, I was alerted to the fact that today is the Ruit Farm blog’s 5th anniversary! I don’t pay much attention to these things, but it got me started thinking about how I began the blog.

For all the years that we have had sheep I have always kept a datebook type calendar. Pam of Hatchtown Farm  gave me that tip and it has continued to be a good one. But those squares, even on a big datebook, are not large enough to really fill in all the details of what is going on. So I began an electronic journal on LiveJournal in 2007 (I think!), but kept it in ‘private’ mode. After I had been doing that for quite awhile, I decided to get a little more formal and jump to a live format. It forced me to get a little better organized, I became more aware of noting things using photographs, and just generally made things a little more precise. And I can’t even begin to count the number of times that I have gone to the blog to verify when things have happened, what were the details, and all kinds of other things. I am also really glad I have gotten on this bandwagon, because it has led me to a whole lot of other blogs and bloggers which has greatly enriched my life, aside from learning a lot of good stuff!

It doesn’t feel like it’s been 5 years at all!

Leave a Reply

