Our sweet SnowPea

SnowPea's new boy
SnowPea’s new boy

Warning: there is content in here about the birth of a goat baby that was not normal.  If you are squeamish at all, you may want to pass this post by.  But I am posting as this happens to be part of life on a farm, albeit not something that one would expect.

5 days early, she had her kids.  Luckily I had a pen cleaned out and ready for her.

I checked on her late last night and nothing was going on.  She looked uncomfortable, but in the last week or two that is always the way.  When I got out there a little after 5 this morning, I found this cute little fellow standing next to SnowPea, mostly dried off and obviously fed already.  I really couldn’t quite believe that she had just had a single, although he is a 7 pounder.  But a little way away from where they were standing was what I took to be two stillborn babies.  Both black, so at first I did not see them on the ground.  When I got up close, I really couldn’t believe what I was looking at.  I will not post photos here as it is a little macabre, but there was one body and two heads.  The back legs were too long and at the bottom one foot looked like it was trying to create another joint, but no hooves there.  And the back was open along the spine and it looked like one organ was outside the body next to the spine.  It was such a shock, I had trouble wrapping my head around it.  I guess conjoined twins happen in any mammal, but it’s not something you expect.  While John took that baby away, I got to work making sure that the live buckling was ok.  We got antibiotics and vitamins as well as molasses water into SnowPea and she seems fit and normal, considering the birthing experience she must have had.

All day I kept thinking about how SnowPea had been able to actually deliver that conjoined baby. I feel bad for her, but that’s a people thought, not an animal thought.  It’s nice, as Pam of Hatchtown Farm commented, that she has a baby to mother.  It didn’t look like she had spent much time on the stillborn baby, so this little guy will be it for her this year.  And a splendid little guy he is, too.  What a handsome boy!

So the lambing and kidding season is finally closed at Ruit Farm North for the year!  I can’t say that I am disappointed as it’s been an extremely bumpy ride.  It’s quite the relief, actually.  I think I may go sit in the bathtub with a glass of wine :*)

7 thoughts on “Our sweet SnowPea”

  1. Holy, not sure what exactly to say. That must have been a weird experience. One that I am sure that I would not wanted to be witness of. Thankfully, animals just move on quickly and the buckling is doing well.

  2. So hard, these things, but so many things to be grateful for: that she is ok, that she was able to deliver it, but most of all that she has an adorable healthy baby for her and you to enjoy.

  3. I know. I am still shaking my head over how she ever gave birth to that baby. Hope it was a breach, might have been easier as far as that goes.

    Her little guy is doing well, although I think he overconsumed at the milk bar today and had little poopy pants!

  4. oh Nina! I’m also glad she has a wee one to mother. It might have been much harder for her otherwise. Poor SnowPea. I hope mom and little buckling do well.

Leave a Reply

