The.Last.Week

It is truly The Last Week of the summer break!  Lots of things to do, and I have been without my car, my trusty Subaru Forester (bought in the fall of 2002, a 2003 model with 225,000 miles on it), as it had some serious electrical problems.  I wasn’t sure that our mechanic would find the problem, but at least as of tonight he says that it’s ready for a little more life.  That’s one relief for the moment!

Hemming a lovely linen pant leg
Basting prior to hemming a lovely linen pant leg

I have been frantically trying to organize the things in the house that will make life easier for being organized after I go back to work.   And the heat and humidity have returned, so I have not been sad to be doing many things in the house.  One of the jobs that I have been putting off for at least a year (I know, pathetic!) is hemming two pair of lovely linen slacks.  I have worn them a few times, but when I go up stairs I am in danger of tripping on them.  So I finally got that going.  I love hand sewing of almost all types, love quilting, love machine sewing… but I HATE hemming!  Particularly pants.  Grrr.  I am glad that I did the black pair at midday.  It was tough enough to see what I was doing then, I wouldn’t be able to it tonight!  I have one more leg to do, and then I hope they all look ok.  If they don’t, I will ignore it if possible.  As long as there is no tripping going on :*)  

Marinated chevre
Marinated chevre

Another thing that I have been able to get going on is making chevre again.  I am not keeping all the milk we get from SnowPea, a lot of it is going to our piggies.  But for two days a couple of times a week I am keeping the milk, so I can at least do a 2.5 gallon batch.  Having only one goat in milk is kind of like a mini-vacation, but it has its challenges too.  I guess I have not lost my chevre touch, the newest batch is delish!  I marinated one of them in olive oil, garlic, red and black pepper, fresh rosemary, and a little parsley.  It was better than good!  Looking forward to an autumn of making chevre and socking it away in the freezer for the spring.  

And here’s to hoping more than one goat gets bred this fall!

Leave a Reply

