It’s been a long week!

A light in our greenhouse darkness
A light in our greenhouse darkness

And our long weekend has been a humid, muggy one so far.  It has been wonderful getting back to work and seeing all of my colleagues, but after we turned one of the buildings upside down looking for the paper cutter that was in the back room of the library, I guess it felt like we were really back!

Getting into an earlier morning routine leads to other issues as well.  We had not intended to get home so late last Tuesday night from Augusta, but at 9 PM I found myself out there trying to milk in the dark, with only a large, hand-held flashlight.  SnowPea wasn’t too thrilled with this o’dark thirty milking, but I eventually enticed her onto the stand.  I do not like using a headlamp at this time of year due to the fact that it draws clouds of moths right to my face, and after last summer’s experience with the moth in my ear, I am not anxious for that!

When I got home on Wednesday afternoon, I found that John had kindly fixed up a lamp in the milking greenhouse, far enough past the milkstand that it will give us light, but hopefully far enough away that we will be out of the ‘moth circle.’  With the way the daylight is rapidly vanishing, I am glad of this for sure.

Old and new
Old and new

Last Tuesday when we were out so late in Augusta, we were actually looking at new cars.  I have had a Subaru Forester for 11 years now, and it’s been well-loved and well-used, maybe a little too well-used!  After we had it a few years, it ended up being impressed into farm service and when John was working long days and we needed hay, I always picked up a few bales…  we know where that is going!  Our mechanic called my little Subaru The Hay Buggy, and has been begging us to get a new vehicle for a number of years now.  The truth is that things were beginning to fail on it, and going into the winter and needing to get to work every day before 7 AM, well, it was time.  I did not, however, expect to go and look at cars and come home with one the same day!  But we did, so we now have a new, dependable Subaru Forester.  Wow.  Let’s just hope that this one will last for at least 10 years!  And that the hay issue can always be taken care of by my husband with the truck :*)

2 thoughts on “It’s been a long week!”

  1. Hee hee, the hay buggy. It’s hard to resist throwing the first few bales in but then it’s all downhill from there.

Leave a Reply

