Autumnal images

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

As usual, the week is flying by, punctuated by meetings both before and after school.  We have really launched into the autumnal weather, forcing us to finally break down and turn on the heat. The leaves are quickly turning color, and after the heavy rains this past Monday night, Tuesday morning became my first official ride to work on roads covered with wet, slippery leaves.  It’s always an adventure!

The really beautiful part of this time of year for me is not only the trees, but the sky.  When I think of it I am trying to post photos to Instagram (ruitfarmnorth on Instagram), and most of those recently have been interesting and beautiful sky shots.  This morning I was driving to work and as I came around a curve on Route 32 in Waldoboro, I pulled to the side to take an amazing one of the dawn sky over Broad Bay.  (If I had waited for the next curve, I could have gotten a view of that sky over a foggy hillside that falls down to the water… but there was not place to pull over on that one!)

I had to include two of my favorite things here that represent the passing of one season into another, which are the tomato salad and the beets in the roasting pan.  Very sad to see the tomato season over, but definitely looking forward to root vegetable time of year.

Leave a Reply

