Houdini boy

SnowPea is happy to have Bagels back  in the paddock with them
SnowPea is happy to have Bagels back in the paddock with them

So much for switching out the bucks! By the end of the day last weekend I had found Bagels in a number of different places, most notably not in the paddock with the donkey, which is 2 paddocks away from where the does live. The last time I found him already cuddled up with the does, I just left him there. I admit that I don’t really know what to do! If he is shooting ‘blanks,’ I really need to get him away from the girls so Beige Boy can do the deed. How to do that, I don’t know as the girls regard Bagels to be the dominant buck, so they really don’t want to give Beige Boy the time of day. :*(

The crew watching me drive down the driveway this afternoon
The crew watching me drive down the driveway this afternoon

It’s also been a long week at work, and I have been fighting off a little cold and just been plain tuckered out. Slacker central as far as the blog goes. It’s a little disheartening to be doing chores in the dark in the morning and then doing chores at 4 PM in the afternoon and not having enough light to take photos that actually work! It also means that I really don’t see the girls well enough to hopefully head off a problem before it gets too bad to deal with. Sigh. We are counting down to the Solstice for sure :*)

2 thoughts on “Houdini boy”

  1. Bucks have a mind of their own. Hopefully, the last of our does was bred today. I was not able to cluster the breeding as I had last year so we will have kids in one to two week intervals. I think that may be easier but FH hates the monitor in the bedroom during kidding season. Oh well, he will have to deal. And as far as your blog slackness, have you checked the date on my last entry. I am hard pressed to take the time to read and reply to others let alone write one. You are doing fine, breathe.

Leave a Reply

