Oasis

Moving the loam pile
Moving the loam pile

Yesterday turned out to be as beautiful as predicted, warm and sunny. It’s about time! We got as much done as we could do in one day. I cleaned out the greenhouse where we lamb and kid, while John worked on moving a giant loam pile. In between his loads he took the stuff I was pitchforking out and added it to another compost pile. By the end of the afternoon I had managed to create a large, clean space that is penned off, in readiness for our mamas and babies. Well, the whole greenhouse is cleaned, and one area penned off. (Full disclosure: I pitchforked everything into a pile outside the greenhouse, but after loading a few bucketfulls into the tractor, I had to have John finish getting the pile into the bucket! That much strength I can’t summon up in one day. I sat in the tub for quite awhile last night).

This loam is looking good! As the sun hit the exposed dirt, the worms came to life!
This loam is looking good! As the sun hit the exposed dirt, the worms came to life!

And then the rain and the sleet began. The wind blew and it poured all night and into this afternoon. I think we got at least 2″ of rain. More coming after midnight and through the day tomorrow, but that sounds icier than what we got today.  Yuck-o. I am obsessively watching the extended weather forecast. After tomorrow it looks like it’s going to be in the mid 40s and mostly sunny. I can hardly wait. I think we have probably seen our last overnight under 20F, and that alone makes me almost giddy :*)

A more than dreary day
A more than dreary day

Yesterday turned out to be a tantalizing oasis of warmth in between some days of bad weather. I am very definitely looking forward to the sun.

Leave a Reply

