Preparations

Elf.  She is telling me she is definitely not ready for Freddie!
Elf. She is telling me she is definitely not ready for Freddie!

For our upcoming goatie babies. Doing what we can to make sure we have everything we need for taking care of our little ones at birth and right after. This week has just flown by already, but I have my portable birthing kit ready and waiting along with some clean, old towels. I have to stay up way past my bedtime in order to do a later evening check on the girls as well, which I find very difficult. But onward we go! A few nights back I had a little bit of help staying up later. Our Salt Bay Treadlers meeting was filled with great food and lots of laughter. Some of us got a little bit of spinning done as well, and that kept me out until almost 9:30.

Salt Bay Treadlers dinner spread
Salt Bay Treadlers dinner spread

Everyone is looking good, but not looking close to going into labor. Zelda remains the only one with a serious udder coming on, but all the bellies are growing by the day. It’s just going to be a goatie woo-woo watch for sure. I have just reviewed some of the notes I thought I had lost track of, and two of the girls did come back into heat on the 29th of November, which makes them due toward the end of my April break week, which is extremely convenient! The only one I am really sure will go on or around her due date, is Zelda, and she is due a week from Saturday on the 12th. Maybe we have a little wiggle room still.

Finally, some blue skies
Finally, some blue skies

The weather has gotten increasingly lovelier this week, although it sounds like some nasty weather is coming in tonight. Let’s hope no kids are knocking on the bus door in the next

Leave a Reply

