Fibery week

Silver Coopworth roving
Silver Coopworth roving
White Coopworth/Beigey Alpaca roving
White Coopworth/Beigey Alpaca roving

In addition to our lovely, fiber-filled weekend on the island, I have had a very fiber-filled week at home as well. Early in the week it was quite a surprise when I received an email from our fiber mill that part of the order I had sent in early in June, was finished. I can’t even say how surprised I was, and the next day two boxes arrived. Roving made up of white Coopworth fleece that had been mixed with some beigey alpaca from my husband’s cousin in North Jersey. It is much more beautiful than I even imagined!

Silver and brown Coopworth yarn, sport weight
Silver and brown Coopworth yarn, sport weight

But that is not even where it ended. All of the fleeces came back this past week. Part in roving, part in sport weight yarn. Wow. So now we have the white/beige roving; beautiful silvery-grey roving; silver sport weight yarn, and dark brown sport weight yarn. It’s amazing. Next job is to get to the washing of all the skeins. And then finding folks who want to share in some of the bounty!

Traveling Woman shawl
Traveling Woman shawl

On the knitting side of the week, I have gotten a tad farther on the Traveling Woman shawl that I started on Vinalhaven (using our farm sock wool that I dyed), and for some easier, social knitting, I began another Hitchhiker shawl with some Crazy Zauberball yarn. It’s very colorful and fun to work with.

New Hitchhiker shawl in progress
New Hitchhiker shawl in progress
4 thoughts on “Fibery week”

  1. Is it weird that my mouth watered when I saw that beautiful sport weight yarn? hehe

Leave a Reply

