Late August morning in July

Fog creeping in over the trees
Fog creeping in over the trees

Although, come to think of it, the whole day had that August feel to it. Very cool morning (yay), a little rain, and then just general cloudiness. While I was doing chores this afternoon, the fog began to move in very quietly from Round Pond harbor, which made me think of Carl Sandburg’s poem “Fog” (1916)

The fog comes / on little cat feet. / It sits looking / over harbor and city / on silent haunches / and then moves on.

Beezy, being all serious
Beezy, being all serious

It was a quiet day here on the farm. I spent the morning trying a batch of goat milk mozzarella, and it was quite an elegant failure. I probably should not have used any citric acid. The curds got glossy and stretchable, but never made itself into “real” mozzarella, just kept rolling around. It’s firmed up in the fridge now and I may be able to use in in a baked ziti or something, but it’s not what I set out to make.  I will be trying again soon, though. :*)

 

Marigold up close and personal, as usual!
Marigold up close and personal, as usual!

In the meantime, the chevre is going well, and I continue to crank that out. I have to get a new backlog into the freezer for next winter. I would hate to be without that, and so would many of our friends, I think!

 

2 thoughts on “Late August morning in July”

  1. Goatzarella is one of my favorite cheeses! Rick makes homemade pizza from scratch here, with our own tomato sauce and goat cheese (when we can get some) from a friend who makes their own cheese from their own goat milk.

  2. I had some chevre from a farmer’s market in longmont, co, earlier this summer. It was very good on toast in the mornings. And goat’s milk in our afternoon smoothies. yum.

Leave a Reply

