Milking train partly de-railed

SnowPea looks so innocent!
SnowPea looks so innocent!

In the last 14 years I cannot remember any time that my husband and I have been away together, except when my mother died in 2003, and he was only in NJ for 24 hours before heading back. Having farm animals can be a little bit limiting in that way!

This past weekend, however, we really needed to be gone together, and our son offered to take care of the goats, and even to milk SnowPea. He came over for a walk-through the night before, and I thought all would be well (he has done a lot of farm chores with us through the years and has milked in the past). The morning after we got to NJ, I got a text that said he could not catch her. Even using all his sneaky approaches, she remained elusive. In the past we have had people around that are used to doing a lot of milking, and this time, it just didn’t happen. SnowPea is older and has more tricks up her sleeve than she did even a few years ago.

Needless to say, she remained elusive for most of the weekend. Since she had had a spotty milking 3 days, I decided it was a sign that I should cut back to once a day milking. She was already on a crazy schedule, so I made the call on Sunday night when we got home, to just milk in the afternoons. I have a lot of work to do with the winter shelters for the goats, so this may be a blessing in disguise. All of our friends that love to share in the cheese bounty are not so happy, but these are the fortunes of farming. Sigh. I was hoping to get quite a few more batches of cheese into the freezer for the winter and the spring, but that’s the way it goes. I will still get some, just not as much. And so the autumn is upon us in more ways than one.

Leave a Reply

