Happy New Year, 2015

Tesser the Chihuahua moves into the new year with a new little dog cave bed. Good stuff!
Tesser the Chihuahua moves into the new year with a new little dog cave bed. Good stuff!

It’s really here! Another year has come and gone. I am not one to go all New Year resolutions in January as I prefer to celebrate the “new year” in the autumn, at Rosh Hashanah. But thinking about a new beginning, as the year reaches its darkest point, has some merits as well. I relish the opportunity to hunker down in the house, (hopefully with a wood stove soon!), and get some serious knitting, spinning and reading done. To slow down and enjoy each day’s garnering of a few minutes more light.

I have not been able to find which of my favorite bloggers quoted Charles Spurgeon last year with his “Begin as you mean to go on, and go on as you began…” line. But it’s how I would like to go into 2015, my 61st year (oh my!), and take as much time with friends and family as I can, as well as trying to get enough rest. And the topper would be making sure that I build enough time into my mornings to really whip my spinal arthritis and bursitis hips into movable shape! That takes more doing these days, and with all the chores and getting ready to get out the door by 6:15, I don’t always take the time. Hopefully I will be more mindful of that, so my days are more productive and full of the things I want and need to accomplish.

I think I need to take a leaf out of a good friend’s book: mindful focus. (Kris writes a wonderful blog, Losing Sleep, Counting Sheep . Take a look, it’s a great read). I think that mindful focus really sums things up quite nicely.

And so it goes! Happy 2015 to all of you.

5 thoughts on “Happy New Year, 2015”

  1. Is that your house in the header? If so, I didn’t realize you were right on the water! Back to work we go tomorrow. 🙂

  2. Hi Kim,
    My header is set to change every time the page is refreshed! No, our house is not on the water, but as the crow flies, we are just about 1 mile from Round Pond Harbor, which is on the east side of the Pemaquid Peninsual on Muscongus Bay. We are very lucky to be so close to the ocean. And the Pemaquid Point light is about 10 miles south of us at the tip of the peninsula. Gotta love it!

  3. Tesser is doing quite well. She has her perky back and is eating well, so I hope she can keep it up. Thanks for asking!

Leave a Reply

