Invigorating, to say the least

A frigid but beautiful afternoon
A frigid but beautiful afternoon

The week has been full of what they were calling a “polar vortex” last year.  The term doesn’t seem to be as popular this winter, but it was a blast out of the arctic for sure.

Minus 18F on Wednesday morning was most unpleasant. I had a sinus-like headache all day (I don’t think I kept my nose under my turtleneck very successfully, the wind was howling so badly nothing seemed to stay in place). These are the days when I wish I had a “real” barn structure instead of livestock greenhouses that can be problematic in high winds, which is what we had for the last few days. I only had to re-tie down part of the tarp yesterday afternoon when I got home from work, so it wasn’t too bad.

Happiness is a heated water bucket!
Happiness is a heated water bucket!

My real happy dance came earlier in the week when we brought home a heated 16 gallon bucket for the boys and Jingle the donkey. I have a large livestock water tank in with the girls which has a removable tank heater in it, but 3 bucks and a donkey don’t drink enough water to warrant a 30 gallon stock tank. So I have been “making do” with two smaller buckets, and ice whacking twice a day, plus hauling two gallons of hot water out 2 or 3 times a day as well. I feel like I am getting a vacation now that there is no more need for the sledge hammer and digging at large chunks of ice.

Old, unheated water buckets.  For summer use only!
Old, unheated water buckets. For summer use only!

It’s definitely the little things that can make life so much more pleasant!

3 thoughts on “Invigorating, to say the least”

  1. Fortunately we didn’t get that cold here during our bout with the polar vortex. Worst was 19 degrees (so far) this season. No snow at our elevation, yet.

Leave a Reply

