Blizzard 2015, ready or not

Winter dawn at the top of the paddocks
Winter dawn at the top of the paddocks

Winter has definitely decided to make up for lost time. We were extremely lucky all autumn and early winter with mild temperatures and not much snow. A few bad power-outages and trees down, but multiple feet of snow on the ground, not.

Up to 3″ of snow an hour tonight and all day tomorrow will add up quickly, that’s for sure. The coast, where we are, looks to be hit the hardest with 16-26″ of snow predicted and sustained winds of 35+ mph. Our school district has already called a snow day tomorrow, which makes me a very happy camper… I don’t have to get up at 4 a.m. and hustle through, only to stagger in from chores and find that things have been cancelled. Phew! That definitely takes a load off my plate!

Girls tanking up on grain this late afternoon
Girls tanking up on grain this late afternoon

All the goaties are tucked up tonight with extra deep beds of clean straw and as much water as their stock tanks will hold. I moved all their grain troughs and pans into the hay greenhouse, as I don’t think I will be able to find them in the morning (I turn them over and stand them up after each feeding, but I don’t know if I would be able to find them in the snow!) We have lots of firewood in the house, the generator is tanked up and there is extra gas in the garage, flashlights are charged, and a giant mess of chili is in the fridge to sustain us (along with some wonderful loaves of John’s semolina bread!).

We are as ready as we can be. Bring it on! Stay safe out there, peeps. The Thunder Snow is on its way.

6 thoughts on “Blizzard 2015, ready or not”

  1. We sure did!!! And we have enough wood inside for quite a few days, so if the wood pile gets covered and we can’t find the edge of the tarp, we don’t have to worry. Phew!

  2. I called a few friends and family today in York County, ME just to check in but they were politely too busy shoveling to take time out for a chat. I was assured all were safe and sound, and was happy to hang up knowing that. Sounds like you are well used to it by now too. Take care.

  3. Thanks. I should have shoveled more, seeing as how we are going to be getting another 4-8″ tonight into tomorrow! My shovel broke. That’s my story, and I am sticking to it!

Leave a Reply

