Snowed in

Pushing through the snow yesterday morning to do chores before daylight
Pushing through the snow yesterday morning to do chores before daylight

What a week! I only ended up having 2 days of work. Monday, big storm, so school was called off. Tuesday we had a 2 hour delay, but I couldn’t get out at all because the tractor wouldn’t run in the extreme cold (diesel fuel kept gelling up) and my car got caught behind it. It took all day for John to get us dug out. I am kind of glad I didn’t get out because the roads were quite bad and one of the district teachers was in a severe accident on her way to work. So I went in on Wednesday, and then more snow yesterday, so school was called off again. Today we all made it to work and are now trying to get ready for the storm that’s going to begin on Sunday and go through Monday night. Up to about 14″ for our area. I have no idea even what to do with it all!

Paddocks are full to overflowing.  Can barely even see the bunker feeders now.
Paddocks are full to overflowing. Can barely even see the bunker feeders now.

The temperatures have been keeping things on the nasty side as well.  -16F this morning, and more nights with below zero temps are still being forecast for the coming week

Snow sky breaking up yesterday afternoon.
Snow sky breaking up yesterday afternoon.

And so it goes! This is winter in Maine, after all. I am so grateful that we are on the winning side of daylight at this point that I can make it through the rest I am sure. Gotta keep hauling that molasses and hot water up to the goats to keep their rumens happy. And on the plus side, I have gotten quite a bit of knitting done :*)

4 thoughts on “Snowed in”

  1. Still no snow here this year, yet. We usually get something in early January, but this winter season has been drier than normal. We sometimes get a surprise snow in March or April. That remains to be seen! As beautiful and scenic as the northeast is, especially Maine, I don’t miss temperatures like the ones you are experiencing, or having to shovel a lot of snow.

    It is raining gently and in the low 50s. Frogs are singing out there tonight – they come out in late January here.

  2. Oh, I am envious. Frogs! I wait and wait in the spring to hear them. You are very lucky! I just hope you aren’t in a drought cycle there, if you are not seeing snow.

  3. Oh my! And another storm today — three Mondays in as many weeks! Hope you all continue to stay safe and warm.

Leave a Reply

