Back to work, and a treat ahead

Afternoon choretime sky
Afternoon choretime sky

Getting back into the swing of things! And still hoping for some warmer weather.

This morning it was -22F and blowing here. By the time I made it up to the goats with my gallons of hot water and molasses, I could barely breathe. I keep my nose and mouth wrapped up in temps like this, but it didn’t seem to be making much difference today. Obsessively scanning the 10-day forecasts multiple times a day, I am seeing that nighttime temperatures are going to be slowly rising, which is the fact that I keep a death grip on. And daytime temperatures are going to be doing a little dance up and down, but by next week we should be seeing pretty steady 20-degree+ days. It will feel like a preview of the breath of spring!

But the big excitement in my week: NETA (New England Textile Arts) Spa weekend is coming up! I have been impressed into a little service for the weekend, but it is a pleasure. It’s such a great thing for the toughest time in the season. Spinners, knitters, crocheters and rug hookers converge on Freeport, Maine, and fill up all the hotels, inns and B&Bs. All the common areas of these places are full of chatter and fiber work, with new friends and acquaintances being formed each day. We have 20 vendors at the Hilton Garden, and lots of great food and friendship can be found anywhere you go. It’s a bright spot during some of the coldest days of the year. Sigh. I can hardly wait! The Harraseeket Inn has a fabulous salt water pool! My favorite.

7 thoughts on “Back to work, and a treat ahead”

  1. Glad is it warming up where you are. We have had mornings in the mid 20s, followed by daytime temperatures in the 50s and 60s. An unusual amount of sun this winter for western Oregon, and not a drop of snow in my neck of the woods, yet.

  2. I have to put you in touch with a friend of mine that is a spinner and textile artist in the Sierra Mountains here in California. Let me know of you are interested? Have a fun weekend.

Leave a Reply

