No change

Marigold during better days.
Marigold during better days.

We continue to take care of our sweet Marigold.  I honestly have to say that I don’t see any improvement.  After her 5 days of intensive worming and anti-inflammatories, we continue to give her vitamins, and need to give it time now, I guess.

She is pulling herself around a  little in her pen, and she is eating, drinking, peeing and pooping.  I am having trouble finding out how long the ‘usual’ recuperation time might be for this.  I suspect that a lot of animals get put down when this happens to them, so there isn’t a lot of anecdotal information floating around out there.  From what I have read, it’s at least a month before a final decision should be made about the animal’s future quality of life, if they are still alive.

I am now worried about keeping her warm as the cold weather descends upon us, when she is not able to move around much on her own.  We shall see, I guess.

6 thoughts on “No change”

  1. Good luck with her. I found this bit of information on meningeal worm regarding llamas and alpacas from the University of Tennessee Veterinary School. Don’t know if this will help. Also sounds like a vaccines is in the works.

  2. Hi Nina,

    Maybe it time to consider using Oil of Oregano?

    It is a product that kills both viral and bacterial infections – you can get it in a health food store.

    I usually put it in my doggies supper bowl and have recently run out.

    Maybe it’s worth it to look into this – not harmful to animals.

    Cheryl

    There are plenty of websites http://draxe.com/oregano-oil-benefits-superior-prescription-antibiotics/ [image: Inline image 1]

    [image: Inline image 2]

  3. Oh so sorry to hear this, your sadness and concern is evident in every line. I hope the oil of oregano offers some hope. It sounds promising and worth a go. Fingers crossed, prayers said.

  4. Thanks. I will also give her some Bo-Se (selenium). The article that Lavinia found suggested that, which I had not thought of. I will try just about anything if I think it will help.

Leave a Reply

