It’s coming

What awaited me this morning!
What awaited me this morning!

A few reminders are being thrown our way:  yes, winter really is on the horizon!  It’s been such a warm autumn that I have been lulled into not paying attention.  Although we have been working fairly diligently to try and get the paddocks and animal areas ready for the onslaught, it is still a little bit of a shock when the white stuff begins.

One more day of school and then Thanksgiving break is here.  Many in the family are dropping like flies with whatever viral thing is going around, but so far we are hanging on.  It’s going to be a quiet one for us.

We continue to give Marigold her vitamins and feed her up, but I do not see improvement yet.  We still hope, but I am getting myself ready for the worst.  I don’t know how long I can watch her like she is.

2 thoughts on “It’s coming”

  1. We’re rooting for Marigold, but fully understanding that sometimes best efforts aren’t enough and we have to let them go. It is a rough time of year for people and other animals to try to recuperate. Another thought – sometimes an injection of B-12 and iron can be enough to help boost an ailing one back on their feet. An infection like that has probably taxed her on many fronts, and vitamins, especially B-12 may be harder to absorb through the normal intestinal route. Good luck!

  2. Thanks for your good thoughts, Lavinia! I have been giving her all the B complex I can, and she has had her A&D. She has very red mucous membranes so I hesitated to give her any iron, but I am thinking about a copper bolus, as our friends at Ardelia farm said that they had treated their goats with that. She is very alert, and appears so strong, except for her lower back. It’s not something I ever expected to see, particularly in one of my big, strapping crossbred girls!

Leave a Reply

