2016 has arrived

Exceptional January weather
Exceptional January weather

Happy New Year to one and all!  I am an ornery sort and don’t make much of the January new year.  Doesn’t make sense to me.  I prefer the Jewish new year, or really what makes the most sense would be starting the new year on the winter Solstice.  But that’s neither here nor there.  I am just a new year humbug!

It’s taken me awhile to get back into the school routine after the break.  Doing chores before daylight.  Doing lots of driving (I admin 7 school libraries, in five rural towns.  Big distances).  At this point I am also rushing to get budget money spent before the central office freezes the funds, etc., etc.  Same old story!

Goatie treat!
Goatie treat!

The plus of being in the car so much is, however, audiobooks :*)  Right now I am getting to the end of listening to all 7 Harry Potter books right in a row.  I have read all the books a number of times, and listened to them all as they were published, but doing it all in one go is awesome.  I love Jim Dale the narrator, and could listen to him anytime.  My listening list is long and not just full of Harry Potters, and I know it will get me through the school year.

Leftovers
Leftovers

The goats are doing well and enjoying the discarded Christmas trees.  We cut ours in two and gave one half to each group, and then our friends at Hatchtown Farm gave us their tree and we did the same.  They make very short work of it! Nothing better than sweet goatie breath after they have been munching on a balsam.  It’s the best breath mint ever!

Today we are weathering the wind storm of the year.  40 mph gusts and many inched of rain.  It’s going to be icy for morning chores.  We have had a number of brown-outs, but so far no power outage for us.  Hope we can get through without one.

Happy January!

 

 

 

9 thoughts on “2016 has arrived”

  1. Audio books are a great idea to pass the time while driving. I hope you have really good snow tires on your car 😉 Spring isn’t too far off now. Happy new year to you also.

  2. I love audiobooks on a long drive! If you’re looking for any more easy-listening fantasy, I’d highly recommend Philip Pullman’s His Dark Materials series (narrated by the author).

Leave a Reply

