And we are off

Spinning
Spinning

Into retirement, which still does not feel like retirement!  It feels like most of my summer breaks, although I am not on a roll trying to fit all the “fun” things into a very short time span, and am enjoying the lovely summer we are actually having in coastal Maine this year.

Lots of milk!
Lots of milk!

I am now into milking, cheesemaking, training pigeons, and spending as much time with our grandson as possible.  We love to swim and go to the beach, so that’s been a lot of fun.  I am trying to get myself into a productive schedule, but have not succeeded yet.  That extra cup of coffee on the back steps, smelling the ocean air, is too powerful to resist.  I have not gotten much done upstairs where I need to get going on organizing the fiber space.  But I have been doing some spinning on a beautiful wool/mohair blend from Friends Folly Farm.  My eczema got really bad toward the end of the schoolyear with all the stress, so I couldn’t handle fiber for awhile.  But my hands are almost all better, and I am trying to get to a little fiber every day.

And so it goes.  Delightful!

 

 

7 thoughts on “And we are off”

  1. You don’t need a schedule yet, it is summer and you need to ease into and enjoy retirement first. Once school starts up and you don’t have to go back to work it will really feel like retirement! Enjoy🙂

  2. Ahh, enjoy! That yarn is beautiful. Breathe some sea air for me…..send it down to sweltering central Texas. 😊

  3. Happy summer! Save the inside work on the fibre space until it is just too cold to be going swimming. :). Summer is just too short.

    My twin guys have one more week of camp after this one, and then it is all me, every day. I alternate between looking forward to the play time, and feeling a bit stressed about the lack of breaks. Hopefully we will have lots of fun and less screaming than in past years. 🙂 Enjoy! Joanne

    Sent from my iPad

    >

  4. Congratulations on your retirement. I bet little Tesser is happy to have you home more now! Take the time with that extra cup of coffee, smelling the ocean breeze! You earned it. It will be winter again soon enough.

  5. Thanks Lavinia! Tesser is eating better and much more active. My son kept saying he thought she would perk up a lot once I was home, and he was right :*) Just delightful.

Leave a Reply

