Cheese train is definitely running again

Marinated chevre!
Marinated chevre!

The Train is on a full schedule these days.  I am only milking two of the goats, Pippi and Battie, but each milking is getting me 3/4 of a gallon.  This means that every 48 hours I have enough milk to begin a new 3-gallon batch of chevre (with leftover milkiness for my grandson and for anyone who wants it in coffee).  It’s lovely!  As the lactation season goes through its cycle, I get more and firmer curd structure, so I actually can get more cheese per gallon than I do early in the lactation cycle.  Yesterday I got 15 chevre forms out of the 3 gallons, and earlier in the season I was lucky if I got 8 or 9.

Draining the chevre
Draining the chevre

Most of my days are spent on the chores surrounding handling milk and cheese.  Sanitizing!  But it’s worth it.  I will end up with a good amount in the freezer to dole out during the long winter and the early spring.  If I can find a day when I am not running in 20 directions, I have to  try and make some more Haloumi and Mozzarella as well.

A peek at the draining cheeses
A peek at the draining cheeses

Maybe I will be able to dabble in some aged cheeses as well this fall.  If I can find a wine cooler, and then also dig out a place to put it.  Definitely a work in progress!

8 thoughts on “Cheese train is definitely running again”

  1. I haven’t made cheese in years now, but I noted when I was making chevre cheese that it would be good for a while and then seem to vary to the runnier side. I was buying milk from a local farm. Wonder if it was partly the time in the lactation cycle. Thanks for the tip!

  2. How wonderful that you can freeze it. It looks absolutely delicious. What herbs are you using for the marinating? Such good goaties. I go back to school next week. My last year!

  3. Lavinia, it could also be the breed of goats. Saanens have much more water content in their milk, while the Lamanchas and Guernseys give less per milking, but it’s higher in butter fat (some farmers want to milk all year, so they stagger their goat breeding and milk different goats at different times, too). It could also be the time of lactation as well! You never know :*)

  4. Good luck, Kim, on your last year! I am so relieved to just be concentrating on the cheese and not on all the back to school hoo-ha. I have doing two different kinds of cheese marinating. One is with chopped fresh rosemary, garlic, and lots of red pepper, a little aleppo pepper, and regular pepper, topped with some really good unfiltered olive oil.

    The other one is good for the season right now. Lots of shredded fresh basil, toasted or untoasted pine nuts, pepper and unfiltered olive oil. Any herbs will really do, but I have also just poured basil pesto over them as well, and that’s really good.

  5.  Oh, I had a little wine cooler fridge!  We bought it for bottles/breast milk when my twins were small…and I sure wish I lived close enough to you to pass it along…dang.  I think it is currently in my husband’s office or laboratory, ready for storing lunches and things.  Oh well!  Proximity is everything here….:) Joanne

    From: Ruit Farm Web Journal To: joseiff@yahoo.com Sent: Friday, August 5, 2016 9:51 AM Subject: [New post] Cheese train is definitely running again #yiv4438440138 a:hover {color:red;}#yiv4438440138 a {text-decoration:none;color:#0088cc;}#yiv4438440138 a.yiv4438440138primaryactionlink:link, #yiv4438440138 a.yiv4438440138primaryactionlink:visited {background-color:#2585B2;color:#fff;}#yiv4438440138 a.yiv4438440138primaryactionlink:hover, #yiv4438440138 a.yiv4438440138primaryactionlink:active {background-color:#11729E;color:#fff;}#yiv4438440138 WordPress.com | RuitFarmNorth posted: “The Train is on a full schedule these days.  I am only milking two of the goats, Pippi and Battie, but each milking is getting me 3/4 of a gallon.  This means that every 48 hours I have enough milk to begin a new 3-gallon batch of chevre (with leftove” | |

  6. Thanks, Joanne! Proximity is everything, isn’t it! Thanks for the thought. I bet I can get one fairly cheaply on Craig’s list or at Sam’s Club.

Leave a Reply

