Last Sunday in November, 2016

Was a totally grey one.  November has been pretty true to form, and as the leaves have finally left the trees, we have seen almost no sunny days.  It’s ok, this is what November is all about.  Good knitting and cooking weather!

Guinea hen cup and new skin cream.
Guinea hen cup and new skin cream.

This morning I made my annual trek to Maple Lane Pottery‘s annual small business weekend sale.  I love Robbi, and she not only has a great lineup of pottery items, but she has a few other small business folk there as well.  Cari Balbo of Ridge Pond Herbals was there and I was able to get my new supply of winter face and skin creams in.  It’s always fun and I could not restrain myself when I saw that Robbi had a mug with Guinea Fowl painted on it.  How could I pass that up???

In the Ruit Farm goat world, we decided that today would be the day to take Reddog the Buck out of circulation.  We have had him in with the 4 girls since Wednesday, October 12th, which makes it a total of 46 days.  Goats have an estrus cycle of anywhere from 17-24 days, but the average is about 21 days.  So we are a little over two average cycles, and no one has really appeared to be in a second heat.  Reddog has spent most of his recent time at the fenceline, ogling the girls over there, hoping for some action.  Poor guy, he really didn’t have too much of a challenge with just 4 does to breed.

After we moved Reddog back into the buck paddock with Oreo and Jingle the donkey, we opened the gate between the two girl paddocks.  And there we had our afternoon entertainment!  It took a few minutes for one of them to find the door, but after that, it was a free-for-all of head butting and running around.  Beezus, who has been sharing a pen with Saffron and Battie, the Guernsey girls, turned around and pursued Saffron for at least a half hour.  They were nuts.  Fergus the buckling took the opportunity to try his moves on Pippi while she was busy fighting off all comers from the top of the big rock.  I have to give him lots of points, he really keeps trying!  Zelda the beautiful wandered into the opposite pen and found a new head-scratching post, and ignored the rest of the fray.  Always a work in progress.

Zelda checking out the other side of the fence
Zelda checking out the other side of the fence

And so it goes.  I am hoping that my friend Jane, who co-owns Reddog, can come by and pick him up soon so that he can do some work at her farm.   3 of the non-bred girls are currently for sale, and even though I thought they were spoken for, I think I may need to re-advertise them.  It’s all good.  I only want Zelda, Pickles and Sassafras to go to a good home with someone who will really appreciate all that they have to offer.

And, I can’t believe it’s almost December!

6 thoughts on “Last Sunday in November, 2016”

  1. and so it goes. There’s not much else to say, is there.
    Well, i am rooting for Reddog that he made his mark. Dear Him.
    and i loved the short video
    On Wednesday Vet comes to see what can be done with Cinderella’s
    problem scur which is curving into her cheek. It’s like a rodeo…
    catching before the intervention. Wish me luck.
    I DREAD this. One of the does that is elsewhere now, was shunned for three days after the same “clipping”…there was blood….
    it’s cold now. and i hope the same does not repeat…ie not letting her in the warm space for the night…making her stay alone.
    Goats.

  2. I know, GOATS! I hope your scur problem is resolved easily. My young buckling has scurs and they appear to be growing backward and I am worried about them getting too close to his head bone. I had a one-horned ram many years ago, and his horn was growing around into his cheek. We put him in the milk stand and took the reciprocating saw to it. No blood where we were working, thank goodness!

    I hate it when the goats push one or more out into the cold or the wet. They have no sympathy!

  3. Yes and no. He was a very laid back ram, a wether, and liked me. He certainly wasn’t used to getting on a stand, but we had another guy here (we did it on a shearing day when we had a few other people around who could help) who helped at quite a bit. The reciprocating saw made Henry’s poor head jiggle with the vibration, so I tried to keep his head fairly still, and our other friend kept his back end from panicking on the stand while my husband sawed away. I wouldn’t have wanted to take my blood pressure right after that, but it go the job done in a fairly efficient manner.

    There are some goat places that sell a very fine wire saw, flexible, with rings on both ends that I believe I would try next if I need to. You have to use muscle power, but it wouldn’t result in all that vibration and you could probably do it over a few times. If I have to deal with Fergus’ scurs, I am going to try and source one of these.

  4. yes. i actually got one. called a bone saw? Am hoping the vet
    will come prepared. These are scurs that resulted in his disbudding
    technique.
    I’m a wreck tonight. Am too empathetic for this kind of thing….
    wish Daughter (who they really belong to) would show up and
    haul them off to California, but then, i would be broken hearted
    without them….how it goes., isn’t it.

  5. Ah yes, sometimes when we get what we wish for it isn’t really what we wanted! I sometimes feel the pull of being without the goats, but not yet, I am not near ready for that loss!

Leave a Reply

