Today

Our little orphan

Was quite the day.  We have been doing round-the-clock checks on a few of our does, and no one appeared to be doing anything yesterday or last night.  Getting bigger, but nothing else going on.

Peanut on her feet a few hours later

Last night we thought Beezus might be in the beginning stages of labor, so we were checking her every few hours.  Nothing.  But this morning when I went out there, I found a wee little babe covered in the straw near where Beezus sleeps.  There was no wet spot, no placenta, no nothing.  Just a little baby, apparently dead, lying in the straw bedding.  I grabbed her up, and even though I presumed she was dead, I wrapped her in my jacket and grabbed a towel, and ran her down to the house.  Beezus was just sitting there cudding.  Oy!

Anyhow, she mewled once, and as I was rubbing her belly, I felt her breathing.  And so it began.  After I took her temperature and it didn’t even register on the electronic thermometer, I knew we were in trouble.  And so I had to go to the trusty internet to read the instructions for giving an intra-peritoneal glucose and water shot.  I have never done this before, but luckily I had the glucose, and I did it, following the instructions from one of the big universities.  It was clearly A Miracle.  I watched her come to life in the minutes after that shot, and I still can hardly believe it.  When we got her temp up to 91.4, we celebrated, although when I spoke to the vet, she didn’t sound very optimistic about that milestone.  But we are keeping on, and hopefully it will be a positive outcome.  (Lots of hot water bottles, a heating pad, and body heat to help her get to a temp of 101+.  We did it around midday!).

Peanut having none of this bottle stuff!

Little Peanut Butter should not be alive, but as of tonight, she still is.  We worked long and hard this morning getting her warmed up, so that we could begin to give her some colostrum and milk.  I don’t have a lot of frozen colostrum, and her mama wasn’t making any.  She was dry as a bone.  So I defrosted some from another doe, and broke out my powdered colostrum.  I am milking one of my does, so I can mix that with the powdered stuff.

I don’t know where this will go, or whether or not this little one will survive.  She is truly a Peanut.  About as big as our chihuahua, who is 3 lbs soaking wet.  I want her to thrive, but the odds are against her.  We shall see.  We are having to tube feed her, even though since midday she has been able to hold her head up and get up on her feet and lurch around.  She is not interested in the bottle yet, but I am hoping against hope that we can coax her to it.  (I really hate tube feeding).

And so it goes.  Dorcas and Pippi are still ‘wide loads coming through,’ and very pregnant.  Don’t have a date on Dorcas, but Pippi’s due date is today, which means that tomorrow is a good bet for her.  She will be watched closely.  I can only hope that she decides to go during the day.  Beezus has actually been our only doe to do something at night so far.

Adventures in farming.  Always something new.  All positive thoughts are welcome!

6 thoughts on “Today”

  1. Go little Peanut! Go! Seems we are fighting alongside each other. Too bad we were not closer neighbours. We could add Peanut to our Emergency Kid group here. Good job getting her revived and bringing up her temperature Nina!! I’m sending positive thoughts your way.

  2. Thanks, Wendy! Wish we were neighbors! I hope your little guy is doing well. We have not been able to get this little one onto the bottle yet, but I am not sure her digestion is in full swing yet.

  3. Always so difficult, when the mama decides that Something Is Wrong (for whatever reason, and sometimes they do know best). Amazing job so far, I am in awe that the shot worked and she is on the mend. Odd that Beezus has no milk. Could this have been a premature delivery? Any chance she still has one in there? I will keep my fingers crossed for Peanut!

  4. Thanks, Kris. No, Beezus has no other babies, she was two days past her due date (we watched her get bred by Reddog). But, she is at least 4 and she has never kidded, which I have read and heard discussed in goat circles as being a bad thing, never seems to work out well. She may be a little over-conditioned, but not by much. She produced a little milk or colostrum later, but nothing much to speak of. The only other thing I can think of is that she has “hard bag.” She is also one of the most uncooperative and shy of any goat or sheep I have ever had here. She should have been culled a few years ago, but these things happen.

Leave a Reply

