Peanut is still here

Peanut, surveying her new territory

What a day!  Our little Peanut Butter is still with us, and is a feisty one at that.  I fell into bed last night at 12:30, and managed to sleep some, but by 5 I was up trying to evaluate how our little girl was doing.  I tried and tried to get her onto the bottle, but it did not work.  Last night she passed a lot of meconium poops, so something was working, and this morning she was chirping and crying for food, but as soon as I got that nipple near her mouth she would panic and just not deal with it (her tongue has no coordination, and it just rolls around.  Early days yet, I hope).

Peanut practiced all day to be able to stand on 3 legs and scratch an itch

So by 6:30 I just realized that we needed to tube feed her.  I couldn’t give her much, because she obviously had some milk lurking there from last night (so then I began to worry that she wasn’t digesting, which is a distinct possibility).  But we kept trying to get her on the bottle, and when I finally spoke to the vet, she indicated that we need to take small steps, and it’s always a possibility that she would not ever be able to digest her food (being hypothermic for so long, her belly may not be able to really do it’s job, or come back to normalcy).  Just about the time I was on the phone with the vet, however, Peanut was making a big, giant, poopy mess in her little warm box.  So we hope that we are on the right train tracks here.

We have to be very careful not to let her get too dehydrated, which is a by-product of hypothermia, so we are doing small tube feedings of milk with colostrum, alternated with Gator Ade.  Saffron and Battie are our star girls, giving us a few quarts a day, aside from what their babies are consuming.  (And I could definitely get more if I need it!).

And so it goes.  That little goatie girl has the run of the house now, but luckily she doesn’t want to stray too far yet.  (Peanut loves hanging out with me and snuggling, while she chirps her little songs and snoozes).  Our chihuahua, Tesser, had a fit yesterday because we set up Peanut on her bed in front of the wood stove, with hot water bottles all around, and blankets and towels galore.  I don’t think I have ever seen Tesser so upset!  She has been hiding in her cave of a dog bed in the bathroom ever since, where the floor is 70F, and there are no roving alien goat babies.

15 thoughts on “Peanut is still here”

  1. Poor Tesser! I admire you for being such a dedicated goat keeper, Nancy. I am glad little Peanut Butter is doing well! You work hard at keeping your herd healthy and well cared for.

  2. You need a Nanny Boo! Little Peanut is lucky to have you. Do you think she was born premature? I’m still trying to figure out the mother’s behavior and lack of udder.

  3. Oh, my gosh! Poor little Peanut! Hope she pulls through to become a healthy goat. Perfectly understandable that Tesser was upset. Little buddy!

  4. I was happy to read your report and see the picture of Peanut up and about. Nina, how much do you give her when you tube feed her? She is a full size goat … not a dwarf … right? We’re working away with our little charges here too. ‘Grayson’ is so tiny I’m really being careful not to give him too much as we seem to have overdone it yesterday. But the average is just somewhere around 20 – 40ml per go.

  5. Hi Kim,
    Yes, I have wished many times that we had a Nanny Boo! We have a curmudgeonly, very elderly chihuahua instead! No, she was not a preemie, but she was born to a 4 year old doe who has never successfully been bred before, and who probably was never meant to be a mother. It happens with any mammal out there, I think. Every once in awhile we have seen first time moms in particular (both sheep and goats) just turn their back and decide they want nothing to do with it. And Beezy is a particularly difficult goat, but I was trying to save a particular line of Lamancha genetics, which I can get through Pippi as well, although Pippi is older (I was hedging my bets). Clearly it didn’t work well, but so far we have an almost fully functioning baby Peanut! Only time will tell.

  6. Hi Wendy,
    Yes, Peanut is born to a full size dairy breed mama, but she is only 2.5 lbs. So, normally when we would tube feed a larger baby goat, it would be in the area of 30-60 ml per feeding, maybe 4 times a day. So I think you are in the right ballpark. This little Peanut is being tube fed just 30 ml every 4 hours, but we did have a little breakthrough and her little sucker started working, so she went on the bottle for a brief moment a few hours ago and drank about 30 ml all on her own! I am hoping she can do this again very shortly! Good luck with your sweet crew as well!

  7. Thanks for the answers to my questions. I hope to have goats in the near future. I am vicariously learning! Two more months until retirement. Whoop!

  8. Thank you for the answer to that question about how much to feed Little Grey up here. We are grateful for your input! Good luck little Peanut.

Leave a Reply

