A little night music

Autumn paddock

The late autumn weather is definitely upon us.  We just had the second of two big windstorms in the last two weeks, and during both we lost power, as well as many of the remaining leaves.  During the nor’ easter two weeks ago, the power was out for 4 days (3 of which I spent in NY, lucky me!).  This past Friday we lost power about 5 a.m. and it came back on yesterday about noon, which wasn’t so bad.  We have a large generator which is partially hooked up to the electrical panel, so once my husband gets the generator going, he just has to get into the basement and flip a master switch or something (I don’t go into the basement anymore as it is a gymnastic event, jumping down through a 4′ door onto an upturned bucket, etc., etc.  Not for arthritic me!).  We have a few kitchen lights, bathroom lights, hot and cold water, tv and internet.  And we have the wood stove, so we are not roughing it, by any means.  It does take a trip into town each day for more gas for the generator, which can get expensive!

Winnie in the weeds, looking for crickets and grasshoppers, yum!

The weather is forecasting cooler and cooler nights from now on, and we have had two or three mornings of pretty hard frosts.  Winnie and I always walk up to the paddocks where the goats lived, and there she hunts grasshoppers and crickets to her heart’s content, as the long grass is alive with them.  I love hanging out up there to listen to the cricket song, and even after dark when we go up, there is a chorus to meet us.

But, last night we sat and sat, and there was no night music.  :*(   There was none this morning, either, and I am hoping the sunny afternoon wakes them up.  I enjoy winter and the seasonal changes, but I really, really miss the song of the insects and tree frogs when it gets cold.

Ah well, this too shall return!  In the meantime, I am wondering what Texas Winnie is going to think of snow!  She could be getting her first taste of it on Friday, we shall see!

8 thoughts on “A little night music”

  1. Little Winnie seems like a very sweet dog! Sorry to hear of the high winds and power outages. We have had two so far, and it is not even winter! The storms seem to be more intense many places.

    We are also considering a generator project like yours, that would hook up to solar panels.

  2. Oh the beautiful song of the peepers is my favourite sign of spring. I miss them when they’re gone too … The bird song changes here. The blackbirds have headed south and now the Jays and the Chickadees and the Nuthatches have started to gather into the yard to live close to our feeders. Seems to me that they and the squirrels are being extra conscientious this fall … hope that doesn’t mean a wicked winter!

  3. Wow, I love the thought of a generator hooked to solar panels, Lavinia! I know, it seems as though the extremes in weather are getting more extreme every year.

  4. I know what you mean about the birdsong changing. Here as well, also not so many birds singing early in the mornings. The winter can be pretty quiet, but I wouldn’t exchange it!

  5. Oh, me, too! Always sad when the crickets stop singing for the year. Haven’t heard them for the past two nights. I think they are gone. On a happier note…that Winnie is just plain adorable.

  6. How is your winter going? So far, we are getting off easy here, like last January. February could bring us a surprise, though!

  7. Hi Lavinia! So far our winter has been up and down, a little warm, and a few cycles of bitter cold. Not too bad, really! Glad to hear things are going well your way.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.